Learn a bit more about the law
The Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution guarantees to each citizen the right to bear arms. Yet, many state legislations across the country enacted many controversial restrictions and limitations no other amendment could ever endure. Each state requires its own license; whether it is to collect fees or to control the amount of firearms.
For better or worse, the firearm law is constantly changing. It is important to know your rights because the punishment for these offenses is quite severe, and traditionally, the prosecution addresses the violators who possess firearms with vigor.
In 2013, New York enacted a Safe Act that claims to “keep communities safe while respecting hunters and sportsmen.” Governor Guomo, if reelected, plans to sign a Safe Act 2 which makes one wonder whether the first act didn’t keep the public safe. Under the New York law, criminal possession of a weapon is fourth degree and is a strict liability and per se crime in the New York Penal Law pursuant to NY PL 265.01. The implication of strict liability for simply possessing a firearm or even a knife is automatic prison time.
Recently, Massachusetts reinstated itself as one of the leaders in tough gun control in the nation. On August 13, 2014, the Massachusetts legislation signed into law an Act Relative to the Reduction of Gun Violence. The Act allows police chiefs to ask courts to deny firearms identification cards to individuals if they feel are unfit to obtain them. The Act made gun-based crimes tougher and created an online portal for background checks in private gun sales, making Massachusetts join the National Instant Background Check System.
An improperly possessed or used firearm is dangerous not only for possessing the firearm which is regulated by the Mass. Gen. Laws Ch. 269 Sec. 10 (h) and having to surrender it under the Mass Gen. Laws Ch. 140 Sec. 129D but also risky to your freedom. The Mass Gen Laws 140 Sec. 128B states that for the first offense the violator will be punished by a fine of up to $1,000 and for any subsequent offense by imprisonment in the state prison for up to ten years.
Different towns and cities require different policies and procedures to obtain License to Carry of Firearm Identification. Possession, storage and transportation of firearms are heavily regulated. It’s important to obtain a proper license prior to purchasing any firearms. No doubt, the Act Relative to the Reduction of Gun Violence makes owning firearms more complicated and since certain regulations will become active in January 2015, applicants will be prone to make mistakes in filing or renewing their licenses to carry or firearm identifications cards applications, or worse, due to new regulations, losing their rights altogether.
It is important to note that under the Massachusetts law a possession of a firearm while committing a felony will will result in a mandatory minimum sentence of 5 years. Failing to proper obtain a license to posses a firearm can automatically render a perfectly law abiding citizen a felon.By Margarita Smirnova Call: (617)398-7482 E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org This post is for informational and educational use only and does not create attorney-client relationship.